Buddha Purnima Festival:

Buddha Poornima is also known as Buddha Jayanti. It is the most holy festivals of Buddhist. Buddha Purnima is celebrated in memory of Lord Buddha. Lord Buddha was the founder of Buddhism. This day is celebrated as birth anniversary of Lord Buddha. It falls on the full moon night in Vaisak hindu month, April – May. This day represents three



important events of Buddha’s life his birth, his enlightenment and his death, nirvana. Buddha Jayanti is the most holy festivals of Buddhist. Lord Buddha was the founder of the Buddhist religion and is said to be the ninth avatar of Vishnu.

Many Buddhists visit temples on Vesak to listen to monks give talks and religious Buddhists may spend all day in one or more temples. Some temples display a small statue of Buddha as a baby. The statue is placed in a hand basin filled with water and decorated with flowers. Visitors to the temple pour water over the statue. This symbolizes a pure and new beginning.

Many Buddhists pay special attention to Buddha’s teachings during Vesak. They may wear white best clothes and only eat vegetarian food on and around Vesak. Many people also give money, food or goods to organizations that help the poor, the old and those who are sick. Enslaved animals are bought and set free to display care for all living creatures as said by Buddha.

Government offices, post offices and banks are closed in India on this day. Stores and other businesses and organizations may be closed or have reduced opening hours. Gautama Buddha was a spiritual teacher (more…)

Tags: , , , ,

Buddhism is a religion. Buddhism is based on teachings of Siddhartha Gautam Buddha, it is about 2500 years old dharma. This religion is followed by 350 million Buddhists worldwide. Siddhartha Gautam was sitting under a boddhi tree, when he had first three enlightened revelations.

The most common Buddhism symbol is the Buddha’s footprint. It is a religion about suffering & the need is to get rid of it. The concept of Buddhism is Nirvana, a state without suffering.

Buddhist path can be defined as:

  • To lead a moral life
  • To develop understanding
  • To be aware of actions

Real Buddhism is very tolerant & not concerned with ‘Christian’, ‘Muslim’, ‘Hindu’, and ‘Buddhist’.

Buddhism Symbol:



Buddhism Symbols are the Buddha’s footprint. The footprints of the Buddha represent the body of the Lord. Symbols are swastikas, lotuses & dharma wheels. The footprints exist in India, China, Japan, Sri Lanka & Singapore.

  1. Wheel of Life: It represents the cycle of life, death & rebirth. The Buddha taught about eight ways of life. It is also called as Dharma. It is wheel of the law.
  2. The Lotus Flower: It represents purity & divine birth. It rises in mud at the bottom of a pool, but rises above to become beautiful flower. It means that in life nothing is impossible. It can be any color except blue.
  3. Swastika: It is a well known good luck symbol from India. In India, Hindu uses the swastika to mark the doors, account books. The right hand swastika is a solar symbol. It is favorite symbol. It is found in Mayan & Navajo art.
  4. Stupa:  It is a monument where the ashes of the holy monk are kept.
  5. Triratana: The three jewels – the Buddha, the Dhamma, and the Sangha.
  6. Chattra:  A protection against all evil.
  7. Dhvaja: The victory of the Buddha’s teachings.
  8. Deer: The Buddha which was held in the deer park of Benares.
  9. Naga: The snake king. It is protector of the Buddha and the Dhamma.

Buddha’s Teachings:

The Buddha teaching is divided into three parts:

1. The Three Signs of being are:

Change- It means nothing in the world is fixed or permanent. We ourselves are not the same people either physically, mentally and emotionally.

Suffering- the Buddhist believes that life is all suffering. They believe that there is a joy in life, but cannot be all joy thus life must be suffering.

No ‘I’- It means more difficult. There is nothing everlasting or unchangeable in human beings no soul or self.

2. The Four Noble Truths-

Dukkha- It is one of the three signs of being the other being.  Annatta-no permanent self.

Samudaya- Dukkha is seen as originating in Tanha, a craving that cannot be satisfied- results in rebirth. (more…)

Tags: , , , , , ,

Next Page »