Hindi New Year is called ‘Nav Varsh’. According to hindu calendar, it occurred on the day after Amavasya in the month of Chaitra. It is celebrated in the memory of a triumph victory of the king Vikramaditya over the Sakas. The new year, which is also called Vikram Samvat, is represents that glorious event. According to Vikram Samvat, now it is 2067 year.

Various Names of Hindu New Year:

  • Gudhi Padwa

In Maharashtra, it is celebrated as a ‘Gudhi Padwa’ festival.

  • Cheti Chand

It is celebrated by Sindhi people on the occasion of new year.

  • Chaitra Navratri

Chaitra navratri festival is also begins on this occasion. It is also called Basant Navratri.

  • Chithirai Vishu

In Tamil, the hindu new year festival is celebrated as a Chithirai Vishu.

The excitement of the hindu new year festival is seen in the every parts of India. But mainly the hindu

new year is celebrated by North Indians and people of Gujarat with a great verve and enthusiasm. People fire oil lamps and they decorate their houses with flowers and rangolis.

Tags: , , , , ,

No comments yet. Be the first.

Leave a reply