Makar sankranti is a day when the Sun enters from Dhanu Rashi to Makar Rashi. It is also known as an ‘Uttarayana’. It is celebrated in all over the South Asia with some native changes. A Sanskrit word sankranti is refers as a transition of the Sun from one rashi to other rashi. Maker sanskrati is celebrated in all over India on 14 January. From this day, days start to get longer.

Different Names Of Makar Sankranti In India:

Makar Sankranti or Sankranti:
In Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Goa, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Orissa, Uttar Pradesh, Uttrakhand and West Bengal, this day is called makar sankranti

It has named Uttarayana in Gujarat, Rajasthan and Uttrakhand.

It called ‘Maghi’ in Himachal Pradesh, Punjab and Haryana.

In Tamilnadu makar sankranti is known as a pongal.

Magh Bihu:
It has named magh bihu in Assam.

Shishur Saenkraat:
In Kashmir valley this day is called shishur saenkraat.

Makara Vilakku Festival:
Makar sankranti is celebrated as a makara vilakku festival at Sabarimala temple in Kerala.
Some other countries also celebrate this day as a different name. For example in Nepal, Thailand and Myanmar, it called Maghi, Songkran and Thingyan respectively.

Makar Sankranti Festival In Year 2012

  • Date of Makar Sankranti festival is : 14 January 2012.

Tags: , , , , , ,

No comments yet. Be the first.

Leave a reply