Navratra is a festival dedicated to the worship of the Hindu goddess Durga. The Navratri word means nine nights, Nava means nine and ratri means nights. This festival is observed twice a year, once in the starting of summer and again at the starting of winter. Vasant Navratri is observed in the Hindu month Chaitra (March – April). Navratri is celebrated five times a year.

The Nine Nights festival Navratra:

They are Vasanta Navratri, Ashadha Navratri, the Sharad Navratri, and the Magha Navratri. Navratri is a very important and major festival in the states like Gujarat, Maharashtra, and Karnataka. In Navratri the traditional dance of Gujarat

Navratri Mata

Maa Amba

called “Garba” is also performed.  During these nine nights and ten days, nine types of Devi are worshiped. The tenth day is known as “vijayadashmi.” This festival is celebrated with great passion in Bihar, West Bengal, Madhya Pradesh and the Punjab. It is believed that Goddess Durga was initially worshiped in the Chaitra month and was also known as Basanti Pooja. It was Lord Ram who changed the period of Durga Pooja.

One of the important events in Haryana and Punjab is the worshiping of little girls. These little girls represent Goddess Durga and are known as ‘kanyas’.  It is performed on the eight day or the Ashtami day. The devotees take nine little girls to their home and firstly wash their leg. They prepares and server them food and sweet dishes. Lastly women give them presents like clothes or various make up products.

Vasant Navratri 2014 Date :

Vasant Navratri will be celebrated on 31 March 2014.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.