Buddhism is a religion. Buddhism is based on teachings of Siddhartha Gautam Buddha, it is about 2500 years old dharma. This religion is followed by 350 million Buddhists worldwide. Siddhartha Gautam was sitting under a boddhi tree, when he had first three enlightened revelations.

The most common Buddhism symbol is the Buddha’s footprint. It is a religion about suffering & the need is to get rid of it. The concept of Buddhism is Nirvana, a state without suffering.

Buddhist path can be defined as:

  • To lead a moral life
  • To develop understanding
  • To be aware of actions

Real Buddhism is very tolerant & not concerned with ‘Christian’, ‘Muslim’, ‘Hindu’, and ‘Buddhist’.

Buddhism Symbol:



Buddhism Symbols are the Buddha’s footprint. The footprints of the Buddha represent the body of the Lord. Symbols are swastikas, lotuses & dharma wheels. The footprints exist in India, China, Japan, Sri Lanka & Singapore.

  1. Wheel of Life: It represents the cycle of life, death & rebirth. The Buddha taught about eight ways of life. It is also called as Dharma. It is wheel of the law.
  2. The Lotus Flower: It represents purity & divine birth. It rises in mud at the bottom of a pool, but rises above to become beautiful flower. It means that in life nothing is impossible. It can be any color except blue.
  3. Swastika: It is a well known good luck symbol from India. In India, Hindu uses the swastika to mark the doors, account books. The right hand swastika is a solar symbol. It is favorite symbol. It is found in Mayan & Navajo art.
  4. Stupa:  It is a monument where the ashes of the holy monk are kept.
  5. Triratana: The three jewels – the Buddha, the Dhamma, and the Sangha.
  6. Chattra:  A protection against all evil.
  7. Dhvaja: The victory of the Buddha’s teachings.
  8. Deer: The Buddha which was held in the deer park of Benares.
  9. Naga: The snake king. It is protector of the Buddha and the Dhamma.

Buddha’s Teachings:

The Buddha teaching is divided into three parts:

1. The Three Signs of being are:

Change- It means nothing in the world is fixed or permanent. We ourselves are not the same people either physically, mentally and emotionally.

Suffering- the Buddhist believes that life is all suffering. They believe that there is a joy in life, but cannot be all joy thus life must be suffering.

No ‘I’- It means more difficult. There is nothing everlasting or unchangeable in human beings no soul or self.

2. The Four Noble Truths-

Dukkha- It is one of the three signs of being the other being.  Annatta-no permanent self.

Samudaya- Dukkha is seen as originating in Tanha, a craving that cannot be satisfied- results in rebirth. (more…)

Tags: , , , , , ,